Ok, I admit that sounds very self-centered, let me restate this. Technology is ruining everyone’s life.

I see the irony of this statement. Without technology I wouldn’t be able to type this let alone send my thoughts streaming all over the world on the Internet, but let me defend my case.

I’m addicted to my cell phone and computer and I don’t know anyone between the ages of 18-30 that isn’t, especially those of us without a spouse or child… though I’m not sure if that really limits the addiction. We spend hours checking our phones and emails to see if anyone wants to talk to us, but spend a whole lot less time actually talking with people. When we do have actual face-to-face conversations, we keep our little phones in our pocket or purse so that if it beeps or vibrates we won’t miss a thing.

This makes life less personal despite the feeling that we’re more connected than ever. We’re obviously easier to reach, a touch of a button and we’re in a conversation of some sort, but our attention span is declining and we can’t step away from these devices out of pure fear of missing something “important.”

I would love to break free from technology. No offense to my amazing MacBook Pro, probably the best purchase of my life, but I can’t step away for too long without getting that tech “itch.” What if someone is trying to contact me and I’m not responding? I might miss out on some important news or a great opportunity. But mostly, I’m just missing a potentially humorous facebook link or another health tweet about getting a bikini body.

I’ve even gone so low that I bring my phone in the basement while I’m on the treadmill and in the bathroom while I shower. And you know what? No one calls, or needs me or has much of anything important to text or tweet me. Hence the reason why I’d like to be tech free for a few days.

But this will not happen anytime soon. First of all, I’m looking for a job and an apartment, both things that, in 2010, are pretty reliant on technology. Second, where else would I post my thoughts of the day, so maybe I can tone down the in-person ramblings my co-workers have to deal with, and thirdly, because, well, I love technology.

Thus ends another thought of the day. Whether I made any sense at all or just bored you to sleep, at least I got it off my chest 🙂 Happy texting/blogging/tweeting/facebooking/emailing and whatever else you do online!

Michelle

