This week was not my usual.

For almost a year now I’ve been waiting tables and most of my time has been spent in the same jeans and black shirts running up and down stairs at Westwood, but in the last month I’ve been lucky to take some time off and actually have a few summer weekends, but my weeks were still pretty much Westwood-filled. This week, thankfully, I had a few days off that allowed me to go to a few interviews and also be interviewed – some positive steps in my food and food journalism careers. As I mentioned before I am the new copywriting intern at Savor Agency, I start next week and I couldn’t be more excited to finally do something that I went to school for. And also to wear a different outfit everyday! I’m not going to lie, I am a little nervous since it’s been over a year since I’ve actually done journalism work, but that’s why I’m writing these blogs, so hopefully my headline and copy skills will be as good as they used to be.

One other thing happened this week, my mom emailed a letter to the Daily Herald’s Food Section column, the “Cook of the Week” about me. I know, it sounds a little nerdy and silly, but someone’s got to be featured every week, so why not me? So Monday night a camera crew is coming to video me making fudge and take a few pictures for Wednesday’s newspaper. I also have to prep fudge on Sunday… so I’m probably going to have A LOT of fudge to get rid of next week, let me know if you want some, and wish me luck not being a super dork as I get videoed in what I deemed the first episode of “Michelle’s Kitchen” or “Baking with Mich” or “Mmm…” or my standby “Nilla Rose Desserts.” Well I guess it’s just the Michelle clip of Cook of the Week, but someday…. 🙂

