Yesterday, My grandpa turned 80! That is such a cool thing to say, he’s had 80 years of life that he shares with his five children and 13 grandchildren and three great-grandchildren. Cool is really the only way to describe it. He’s one of my favorite people in the world because he is always himself and doesn’t change for anyone. And he’s funny, and loves dessert – we’re really similar 🙂

My mom and her four siblings flew to Arkansas (where my grandparents live) to celebrate with him this weekend. I can just picture the seven Italians falling back into familiar family roles they haven’t played in a while. It’s probably been over 20 years since the seven of them have been alone together, which made me think about my own immediate family of six.

The last time we were alone together was my 19th birthday (over four years ago), when we went out to dinner. For some reason my sister-in-law and brother-in-law were busy that night and my niece and nephews weren’t even contemplated. It was a nice but weird feeling to fall back into a group that’s been expanded (by five people). It makes you think of the funny family things that have changed in my house, like we all rotated in the “big” room, which obviously is mine now that I’m the only one here, and we also rotated seats at the dinner table – though some of us still argue about that when we’re at the table together… family is funny, and I can’t wait for Septemberfest next week to see everyone (can’t get my favorite weekend off my mind!)

Happy Birthday, Grandpa! Hope you’re enjoying your kids and your flashback to the past!

