I just texted Elizabeth, “My face is having a traumatic week.”

I’m currently sitting with a completely numb right side of my face after returning from the dentist. Me, Michelle no cavities in my adult teeth, had 1.5 fillings. That only bums me out because my teeth are my favorite body part, well you know and my left foot, but actually it’s better to get them filled then to be a 55-year-old in line for a root canal. Plus at least fillings blend in now.

I can’t even remember the last time I had a filling, it must’ve been more than 10 years ago, when I lost my last baby tooth. Yes, in high school. That was when I had three cavities in the same tooth, ew I know and all silver. I used to get so irritated because I had all the cavities and Michael had none. At the time he ate more sugar than I did, now I’m pretty sure that’s reversed, maybe that explains the hole in my tooth.

Anyway, texting her reminded me of my mom’s favorite segment of Kathy & Judy’s radio show on WGN 720 during the holidays – Merry Medical Christmas. Listeners sent the ladies the strangest Christmas letters they received. You know the ones that say something like:

“Michelle got a cortisone shot in her swollen lip zit on Monday because she looked like a mutant, and then on Wednesday got her first filling in 10 years. Tom is also scheduled to have a dental procedure this afternoon and we are keeping our fingers crossed that Sue’s Vitamin D count keeps rising. Madeline is getting her tonsils out a few days after Christmas because she puked the day before she was originally scheduled. Marilee, Ava, Madeline, Michelle, Grenning, Tom, Sue & Tommy all got sick after Thanksgiving with some sort of sinus and ear infection. Surprisingly, Michael, Mr. Emergency room, has been sailing through December. Knock on wood because you never know when he’ll get his toe sliced off somewhere or end up with another concussion. Merry Christmas from the Abraham’s.”

That made me laugh, which was weird because my tongue is half alive and half a mystery.

On the flip side of that, my Auntie Mary Kay sent out the best Christmas card ever this year. Photos are obviously the trend lately, especially with grandchildren and children looking adorable. She has seven little ones in her life and she had a little collage of them in the card, but the best part wasn’t the photos, but the card itself. Instead of the traditional postcard-like printout, it was folded into a little present that you had to pop open. Loved it!

