I just don’t think I’d ever been this happy on January 5th.

According to studies, yesterday, 1/4, it actually the most depressing day of the year. I forget the exact reasoning but it has something to do with the end of the holiday season, putting away decorations and realizing your fat. And the cold, gloominess that most of the world (or at least the US, since I think this may have been a national study) experiences.

Not me! Yesterday was actually pretty fantastic. I started bootcamp, which I’m severely sore from already, but obviously that was going to happen and that means I’m getting my monies worth and getting a good workout which is the whole reason I’m going.

Then I had a great interview for a YEAR-LONG job, that starts at the end of the month, so we are keeping my fingers crossed for that.

But then – boom – I got a phone call about a month-long job working at the American Idol and So You Think You Can Dance office for the travel coordinator, which started today. I think I’ve already made more money this month than the entire month of November. Huge Michelle-style smiles about that.

So I started the job, loved it, loved actually having tasks to do and being good at them. Liked working with people who I met during Hollywood week and you know, not spending the day sitting on my bed talking to my computer. I mean I’m doing that right now, but that’s totally fine when it’s just an hour instead of 12.

BEST PART – it’s 10am-7pm, Monday-Friday. Amazing since my mom and my Chrissy are already booked to come visit the weekend of the 21/22! I mean, let’s be honest my mom is really coming just to see Wicked, but I’m sure Chrissy wants to see my apartment and be a tourist for a day, which I love.

Long story short, happy Michelle, me, is NERVOUS that the ball is gonna drop soon. It has been a really really really really, did I say really yet? Really long time since things have gone well like this for me. Probably not since I started broadcasting school and was told by one of my co-workers that I flipped my happy switch on. I think that was the same week my manager told me he liked bitchy Michelle better than chipper Michelle.

The only slight negative is waking up at 5:30am to go to the classes, but I do prefer morning workouts, just not early bedtime. Bootcamp is an awesome accompaniment to an office job. Being super sore is totally acceptable when you’re just gonna sit and reconfigure spreadsheets, which I nerd-ily kinda love.

This flurry of gleefulness gives me my leftover story for the day – Why I liked the movie New Year’s Eve.

No, I don’t think it was a great movie by any means. It wasn’t that classy and it wasn’t that funny. But, there are so many story lines going on at once that the movie is very entertaining. You are intrigued by each character enough to wonder what happens next and suddenly the movie is over and even though you don’t mind if you ever see it again, you will be put in a really happy and optimistic mood.

I saw it a few days before actual New Year’s Eve and it made me believe that positive things could happen in the new year… it’s kinda working for me. Just hoping that figurative ball doesn’t drop like the one in Times Square.

I apologize for that nerdy pun. It was too oozing with cliché to resist.

 

