That’s what I plan on telling my mom when I call her tonight to see how her birthday dinner was.

In case you aren’t sure, it’s a compliment, and I will take the same compliment when I turn 25 in 52 days. 2002 just was not a good-looking year for us.

Sometimes it sucks to have a birthday in the middle of the week, but sometimes it’s awesome. She’s pretty much been celebrating since my surprise visit last Wednesday. Plus it was Valentine’s Day last week and she heard that her oncologist never wants to see her again (again a good statement that sounds kinda negative). She got a resourcefully decorated cake and she’s antique-ing this weekend with her friends. You know what sucks a little though? Having your birthday on Ash Wednesday. Also today.

Now, she’s ok with it, there’s plenty of celebrating in the past and the future for my lucky mom, but she did have to share her birthday with a no-snacking, no frivolousness, no meat day. At least for those of us that practice the rituals of lent.

I think she’ll be fine, it’s my dad I’m worried about. You see, good old Mr. Abraham, has a tendency to believe he has the ability to give out dispensation. Which I’m pretty sure is a term I’ve only ever heard from him. Maybe Grandpa Abe used to do it? (Auntie Roe – I’ll take your opinion on this one)

Either way, he gives it out. It’s almost like if you have a Lenten or religious holiday problem, ask my dad if it’s ok to alter it. What I mean is when we were little if we accidentally ate meat on a Friday during lent, my dad just told us to swap it out for Saturday. Which is a nice thing to tell your stressed child, which I would be if I forgot. So I appreciated that as well as the few Good Fridays that have been my birthday. I still didn’t eat meat, because really it was an excuse to have waffles or cheese pizza for dinner, but he would dispensation-me and say I could have cake or ice cream because it was my birthday, and again swap it for another day.

As a little girl who had a lot of Good Friday birthdays, I was happy to believe him. Then all the sudden, probably about 10 years ago, I wondered where he got that power? Then, I realized he didn’t have it. And thus I believe that he right now, is convincing my mom to tell the waiter at Dover Straights (where they are having fish and lobster for dinner) that it’s my mom’s birthday to get free dessert. And that he’s having a beer, even though I suggested they give up drinking in the United States for lent. (I understand how weird that sounds, but they’re going on a cruise for their 30th anniversary the week before Easter).

So I’ll have to wait for my phone to ring where I can check on their dispensation-ing or not. Either way I will have to celebrate by Pinterest-ing pictures of the cake I made for my mom and counting down the 46 days until Easter, when sweetness can come back in my life.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!

